78 Virginia Counties, 34 Cities Designated Disaster Areas

October 18, 2007

Thursday Governor Kaine announced that the acting U.S. Secretary of Agriculture has designated 78 additional Virginia counties and 34 independent cities as primary natural disaster areas due to reductions in farm production caused by drought and high temperatures.

With the additional designations, all Virginia counties are now covered with the exception of Arlington and York counties. Arlington and York were not approved as primary natural disaster areas because they were not found to have sustained qualifying crop losses due to the natural disaster.

The disaster designations make farmers eligible for low-interest loans and any supplemental relief that may be provided by Congress.

For previously issued disaster designations and additional drought-related information, visit the VDACS drought webpage at the website below.

The comments sections of Newsplex.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 10647016 - newsplex.com/a?a=10647016
Gray Television, Inc.