Drought Disaster Declared In Parts Of Virginia

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

January 25, 2006

The federal agriculture secretary has granted drought disaster status to 38 Virginia localities.

Governor Tim Kaine's office says the declaration comes because of reductions in farm production because of drought-like conditions since late spring.

The designation makes farmers in the affected counties and adjoining localities eligible for low-interest loans and other funding that might be provided by Congress.

Counties List: Amelia, Bland, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of Wight, King and Queen, Lee, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Nelson, Nottoway, Page, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Pulaski, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, Tazewell, and Wythe Counties.

Requests for federal disaster designations are pending for 11 additional localities: Bedford, Culpeper, Goochland, Grayson, Hanover, King William, Rockbridge, Russell, Surry, Washington, and Wise.

The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 2230796 - newsplex.com/a?a=2230796
Gray Television, Inc.