August 04, 2007
For the second day in a row, a Virginia court declared the state's abusive driver fees unconstitutional.
Friday a Richmond General District Court judge ruled the fees violate the 14th amendment because non-residents don't pay them.
The fees range from $750 in three equal annual installments for driving on a suspended license to $3,000 for driving related felonies.
The decision comes one day after a Henrico Court judge made the same ruling.
Virginians have complained bitterly about the amount of the fees and about their application only to in-state residents. Governor Tim Kaine and legislative leaders have vowed to revisit the issue in January. They oppose calls for a special session to repeal or amend the law.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.