Machine Glitch Delays Local Election Results

May 2, 2012

The results from Tuesday's Scottsville Town Council elections were made official at 2 p.m. Wednesday. A technical glitch on an election machine delayed the results.

The machine froze and would not print out results, the only way that election officials can see the names of write-in candidates. A technician solved the problem and the counters spent the afternoon canvasing the results.

A total of 86 write-ins votes were counted Wednesday. With the results official, all five candidates who ran for Scottsville Town Council won a seat. The leading vote-getter among the write-ins, Elizabeth Knotts, also won a seat.

Election Results

Scottsville Town Council (all 6 win seats)

Bob O'Halloran - 68 votes
Ronald Smith - 61 votes
Raymond Gritsko - 60 votes
John Snoddy IV - 57 votes
Shannon Adcock - 49 votes
Elizabeth Knotts (write-in) - 35 votes

Louisa County Town Council (all 3 win seats)

Warren Gehle - 51 votes
Matthew Kersey, Jr. - 47 votes
Danny Carter - 47 votes
Write-In - 5 votes

Madison County Town Council (all 4 win seats)

Lawrence Beasley - 23 votes
Charles Carter - 22 votes
Alma Ayers - 21 votes
Nancy Knighting - 21 votes
Write-in - 0 votes

In the mayor's races, Barry Grove III won in Scottsville with 74 percent of the vote and Willie Lamar won in Madison with 100 percent of the vote.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 149768045 -
Gray Television, Inc.