Boyd, Dumler Win Albemarle County Supervisor Races

By: Jessica Jaglois Email
By: Jessica Jaglois Email

For complete Albemarle County election results, click here.

November 8, 2011

In two of the most expensive campaigns Albemarle County has ever seen, Republican Ken Boyd and Democrat Chris Dumler were elected to seats on the Board of Supervisors.

Boyd defeated Democrat Cynthia Neff to earn his third term representing the Rivanna District. Boyd received 2,933 votes (57%) to Neff's 2,249 votes (43%). Boyd also won all 5 precincts in this election.

"I'm very excited as you can imagine to have won all of the precincts," Boyd told CBS19. "The past two elections that I've been in, we've been very close but we haven't won all the precincts, we did this time. We ran on my record and we ran on our vision for the future and I'm just glad to be elected for another four years."

Dumler beat Republican Jim Norwood to keep the Scottsville seat in the control of a Democrat. He received 2,007 votes (54%) to Norwood's 1,708 votes (46%). Dumler will take the place of Lindsay Dorrier who did not run for re-election.

Boyd campaigned as a supporter of the proposed Western Bypass while Neff was an outspoken opponent. The reverse was true in the Scottsville District where the winner, Dumler, questions the value of the road.

All four candidates spent heavily on television and radio ads in the campaign with the Boyd-Neff face-off dominating the airwaves in the finals days before the election.

Boyd told CBS19 he wouldn't have any problem working with Dumler.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 133505018 -
Gray Television, Inc.