Greenbrier Elementary Among 57 Va. Schools Awarded for Raising SOL Scores

Jan. 2, 2014

Charlottesville's Greenbrier Elementary School is one of more than 50 schools in Virginia being honored for its academic achievement.

The Board of Education is honoring 57 schools for raising the achievements of economically disadvantaged students in the Commonwealth.

The awards are based on student performance on the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests.

Greenbrier was recognized as a Title I Distinguished school, meaning it met all state and federal requirements two years in a row, and achieved reading and math SOL pass rates of 60 percent or higher.

Falls Church’s Thomas Jefferson Elementary and Scott County’s Yuma Elementary have been awarded Title I Highly Distinguished schools for achieving SOL pass rates of 85 percent or higher for two consecutive years.

The 55 Distinguished Title I schools are as follows:
- Amherst County — Temperance Elementary
- Arlington County — Henry Elementary
- Charlotte County — Eureka Elementary
- Charlottesville — Greenbrier Elementary
- Chesterfield County — Elizabeth Scott Elementary
- Culpeper County — Farmington Elementary
- Fairfax County — Belvedere Elementary and Lorton Station Elementary
- Franklin County — Callaway Elementary and Snow Creek Elementary
- Gloucester County — Achilles Elementary, Bethel Elementary and Botetourt Elementary
- Hanover County — Mechanicsville Elementary
- Henry County — Rich Acres Elementary
- Highland County — Highland Elementary
- Isle of Wight County — Carrsville Elementary
- King George County — King George Elementary
- Middlesex County — Middlesex Elementary
- New Kent County — New Kent Elementary
- Norfolk — Ocean View Elementary, Sewells Point Elementary and Willoughby Elementary
- Prince George County — L.L. Beazley Elementary and South Elementary
- Pulaski County — Pulaski Elementary
- Richmond — Broad Rock Elementary
- Rockingham County — Peak View Elementary, Pleasant Valley Elementary and South River Elementary
- Salem — East Salem Elementary and G.W. Carver Elementary
- Scott County — Weber City Elementary
- Stafford County — Hartwood Elementary and Kate Waller Barrett Elementary
- Tazewell County — Abb’s Valley-Boissevain Elementary, Dudley Primary, Graham Intermediate and Tazewell Elementary
- Virginia Beach — Diamond Springs Elementary, Newtown Elementary and Rosemont Elementary
- Washington County — Abingdon Elementary and Greendale Elementary
- West Point — West Point Elementary
- Williamsburg-James City County — D.J. Montague Elementary, Matthew Whaley Elementary and Rawls Byrd Elementary
- Wise County — Coeburn Primary, St. Paul Elementary and Wise Primary
- York County — Bethel Manor Elementary, Dare Elementary, Magruder Elementary and Waller Mill Elementary

Each school and division will receive a certificate celebrating its status and achievement.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 238479701 -
Gray Television, Inc.