Mealy, Hackenberg Earn Falcon Club MVP Honors

By: Kristi Fulkerson Email
By: Kristi Fulkerson Email

January 29, 2012

Louisa County's Andre Mealy and Fork Union's Christian Hackenberg were earned Falcon Club MVP honors Sunday night at the 57th Annual Sports Banquet.

Mealy rushed for over 1800 yards and 25 touchdowns for the Lions this past fall, claiming the public school honor. In his junior season at Fork Union, Hackenberg was honored as the private school MVP after throwing for over 2,000 yards and 20 scores.

Virginia head coach Mike London served as the keynote speaker for the event, held at the Elks Lodge in Charlottesville.

Falcon club committee members distributed traveling trophies to teams for rivalry wins this season, followed by the honoring of team MVP/Student-Athletes, along with the weekly fall Falcon Club Players of the Week.

Corbett King Memorial Student-Athlete Awards
Albemarle - Tyler Morris
Blue Ridge - Mayn Francisco
Charlottesville - Graham Rolph
Covenant - Clark Crutchfield
Fluvanna - Dareon Carrington
Fork Union - Kordell Strauss
Louisa - Zach Jackson
Monticello - Nathan DiGregorio
Orange - Landon Rasnick
St. Anne's-Belfield - Dylan Park
Western Albemarle - Vince Marshall
William Monroe - Devin Frederick

Team MVP Awards
Albemarle - Lee Carneal
Blue Ridge - Lance Gray
Charlottesville - Mason Sherry
Covenant - John Meade
Fluvanna - Taylor Lintecum
Fork Union - Christian Hackenberg
Louisa - Andre Mealy
Monticello - Isaac Robinson
Orange - Tyler Seal
St. Anne's-Belfield - Shane Palmateer
Western Albemarle - Austin Ellis
William Monroe - Jordan Gentry

Harry Martin Memorial Trophy/Outstanding Coach of the Year
Public - Mark Sanford, William Monroe
Private - Orlando Patterson, Blue Ridge

Carl Dean Sportsmanship Trophy
Eric Sherry, Charlottesville

Gene Brown Memorial Leadership Award
Devin Frederick, William Monroe

2012 Falcon Club Players of the Week
Kent Hentry - Western
Andre Mealy - Louisa
DJ Randel El - FUMA
Jhalil Mosley - Monticello
Lee Carneal - Albemarle
YaYa Anderson - Fluvanna
Isaac Robinson - Monticello
Doug Sizemore - William Monroe
Shane Palmateer - STAB
Lance Gray - Blue Ridge
Branford Rodgers - STAB

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138303974 -
Gray Television, Inc.