Western, Monticello Dominate All-JD Team

Western Albemarle couldn't complete a perfect 10-0 regular season. But the Warriors did win this year's Jefferson District football title.

And on Monday, the Warriors placed a league-high seven players -- led by quarterback Kent Henry -- on the All-Jefferson District team.

Henry was named the league's offensive player of the year. The junior finished the regular season with 2,128 passing yards, 1,233 rushing yards, and 42 total touchdowns (25 passing and 17 rushing), leading the Warriors to a 9-1 regular season.

Henry was joined on the first-team offense by his two wide receivers, senior Daniel Kujzak and junior Nic Drapanas. Junior defensive end Patrick Maupin and senior linebacker Tommy Mullin were both named to the first-team defense, along with Kuzjak (linebacker) and Drapanas (defensive back.).

Monticello also placed seven players on the all-JD first team: junior running back TJ Tillery; senior offensive lineman Sam Marshall; junior defensive lineman Tre Francis; junior Josh Malm at both punter and kick specialist; and senior Denzel Terry at both defensive back and return specialist.

Fluvanna senior linebacker Devin Goode was named the district's defensive player of the year. Goode finished the season with 126 total tackles -- including two sacks -- as well as four forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, and a pair of pass deflections. Goode was one of two Flucos named to the first team.

Charlottesville had five players named to the All-JD first team, including the district's player-at-large, senior Rashard Davis. Powhatan and Louisa each placed four players on the first team.

Western's Ed Redmond and Charlottesville's Eric Sherry were named the district's Division 3 co-coaches of the year. Redmond led the Warriors to a 9-1 record and the district title in his first season with the team, while Sherry guided the Black Knights to a 4-6 finish, and the program's first playoff appearance in a decade.

Louisa's Jon Meeks was voted the league's Division 4 coach of the year.

First Team Offense
QUARTERBACK - Kent Henry, jr, Western Albemarle
RUNNING BACK - Chris Thurston, jr, Charlottesville; TJ Tillery, jr, Monticello; Zack Jackson, sr, Louisa
WIDE OUT - Daniel Kuzjak, sr, Western Albemarle; Nic Drapanas, jr, Western Albemarle
TIGHT END - Jalen Harrison, soph, Fluvanna
OFFENSIVE LINE - Sam Marshall, sr, Monticello; Will White, jr, Charlottesville; Chris DeLeon, sr, Powhatan; Joseph Vaughan, sr, Louisa; Spencer Dowdle, jr, Powhatan
KICK SPECIALIST - Josh Malm, jr, Monticello
RETURN SPECIALIST - Denzel Terry, sr, Monticello
PLAYER-AT-LARGE - Rashard Davis, sr, Charlottesville

First Team Defense
DEFENSIVE END - Derek Dawson, sr, Powhatan; Patrick Maupin, jr, Western Albemarle
DEFENSIVE LINE - RJ Jackson, jr, Louisa; Troy Hughes, soph, Charlottesville; Tre Francis, jr, Monticello
LINEBACKER - Devin Goode, sr, Fluvanna; Tommy Mullin, sr, Western Albemarle; Daniel Kujzak, sr, Western Albemarle; Larry Anderson, soph, Charlottesville
DEFENSIVE BACK - Norris Goode, sr, Powhatan; Denzel Terry, sr, Monticello; Nic Drapanas, jr, Western Albemarle; Zack Jackson, sr, Louisa
PUNTER - Josh Malm, jr, Monticello

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Kent Henry, jr, Western Albemarle
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Devin Goode, sr, Fluvanna
DIVISION 3 COACH OF THE YEAR - Ed Redmond, Western Albemarle; Eric Sherry, Charlottesville

Second Team Offense
QUARTERBACK - Rashard Davis, sr. Charlottesville
RUNNING BACK - Jovan Burton, sr, Fluvanna
WIDE OUT - Darius Watson, sr, Charlottesville; Deion Johnson, jr, Louisa
OFFENSIVE LINE - Tucker Herr, jr, Western Albemarle; Adam Hill, jr, Monticello; Josh Wheaton, jr, Fluvanna; Jerimiah Jordan, jr, Charlottesville
KICK SPECIALIST - Johnathan Malcolmb, sr, Powhatan
RETURN SPECIALIST - RyQuane Washington, soph, Fluvanna

Second Team Defense
DEFENSIVE END - Cody Childers, sr, Fluvanna; Morgan Wilson, soph, Monticello
DEFENSIVE LINE - Donte Henry, jr, Western Albemarle; Michael Mitchell, soph, Louisa
LINEBACKER - Elijah Goode, soph, Powhatan; Jeffery Morse, jr, Louisa; Jordan Painting, jr, Louisa; Robert Spivey, jr, Charlottesville
DEFENSIVE BACK - Deion Johnson, jr, Louisa; Nick Epps, soph, Charlottesville; Joey Shaheen, sr, Fluvanna; Steven Hearn, jr, Western Albemarle

The comments sections of Newsplex.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 177372121 - newsplex.com/a?a=177372121
Gray Television, Inc.