Long Wins Hendricks Award as Nation's Top Defensive End

By: J.W. Stehle Email
By: J.W. Stehle Email

Long Wins Hendricks Award as Nation¹s Top Defensive End

Virginia senior defensive end Chris Long has been named the winner of the 2007 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award. The award is presented by The Hendricks Foundation and named in honor of the former University of Miami three-time All-American and NFL Hall of Famer.

"I was proud to have Chris and all of the other men on my list of finalists, and I congratulate Chris on his terrific season, Hendricks said. My voters were very definitive in their decision this year, and I don't think they could have made a better choice. I look forward to watching Chris play in the coming years.

Long becomes the third Cavalier player to win a national individual football award. In 1941 Bill Dudley was named the Maxwell Award winner as the Collegiate Player of the Year. In 2004 Heath Miller was voted the Mackey Award as the nation¹s top tight end.

"It is a great honor to win this award, Long said. He (Ted Hendricks) and my father were teammates with the Raiders for several years and my dad talks about the passion and enthusiasm Ted demonstrated on the field. I try to play to the same high standards at which Mr. Hendricks played.

"All of the other candidates were deserving and I feel blessed to be
mentioned with all of them. It is a tremendous feeling to be the recipient
of the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award."

In all, eight players were finalists for this year's Hendricks Award.
According to the Hendricks Foundation, Long received more than 60 percent of the votes, the most ever for a winner in the history of the award.

The Hendricks Award finalists are evaluated based upon on-field performance, leadership abilities and contributions to the school and community. Candidates may represent any class (freshman through senior) as well as any recognized four-year NCAA member school (Division I through Division III). Voters for the Hendricks Award include college coaches, former players and coaches, media members and professional football scouts.

Previous award recipients include Terrell Suggs of Arizona State (2002), David Pollack of Georgia (2003, 04), Elvis Dumervil of Louisville (2005) and LaMarr Woodley of Michigan (2006).

The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 12152421 - newsplex.com/a?a=12152421
Gray Television, Inc.