Henry, Martini Big Winners at Falcon Club Banquet

By: Nate Sulham Email
By: Nate Sulham Email

Central Virginia's best in prep football gathered at the Charlottesville Elk's Lodge Sunday night for the 59th Annual Falcon Club Awards Banquet.

Over 60 awards were given out for game winners during the 2013 season, individual school student athlete and Most Valuable Players, as well as leadership and sportsmanship awards.

The big winners were Western Albemarle senior quarterback Kent Henry and Woodberry Forest senior linebacker Greer Martini.

Henry won the Public School MVP award for the second straight season while Martini claimed the prize on the Private School side.

"It feels nice to be rewarded for the hard work I put in in the offseason but like I've been saying all year, it's really been a team effort and a team goal and team accomplishment," Henry said. "It shows how the kids believed in Coach Redmond and followed us and how everyone contributed and allowed me to achieve this award."

"It's just an honor for me and also Woodberry Forest, I could have never done it without my teammates," Martini added. "It's a win for both me and my school. And also the Falcon Club recognizing us for the first year, I think that's important and I think we're going to have a great relationship with this club."

Other key winners include Eric Sherry (Public School Coach of the Year) and St. Anne's-Belfield's John Blake (Private School Coach of the Year).

William Monroe senior Joshua Key won the Citizenship Award while Monticello's Sean Means claimed the Leadership Award.

Falcon Club Awards
Public MVP
Kent Henry, Western Albemarle
Private MVP
Greer Martini, Woodberry Forest
Public Coach of the Year
Eric Sherry, Charlottesville
Private Coach of the Year
John Blake, STAB
Carl Deane Memorial Sportsmanship Award
Clint Alexander, Woodberry Forest
Darden & Jim Towe Memorial Citizenship Award
Joshua King, William Monroe
Gene Brown Memorial Leadership Award
Sean Means, Monticello

Student Athlete: Kyle Shaffer
MVP: Kevin Bernardino

Blue Ridge
Student Athlete: Nate Johnson
MVP: Ryan Etheridge

Student Athlete: Will White
MVP: Chris Thurston

Student Athlete: Spencer Godine
MVP: Teddy Morris

Fluvanna County
Student Athlete: Jesse Lockits
MVP: Jesse Van Dyke

Fork Union
Student Athlete: Seth Jackson
MVP: Mark Uptegraff

Louisa County
Student Athlete: Kyle Anderson
MVP: Deon Johnson

Student Athlete: Sean Means
MVP: TJ Tillery

Orange County
Student Athlete: Ben Hargett
MVP: Isaiah Ferguson

Student Athlete: Lee Parkhill
MVP: Jalen Harrison

Western Albemarle
Student Athlete: Austin Gadient
MVP: Kent Henry

William Monroe
Student Athlete: Joshua King
MVP: WJ Lamb

Woodberry Forest
Student Athlete: Hunter Etheridge
MVP: Greer Martini

The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 242154661 - newsplex.com/a?a=242154661
Gray Television, Inc.