Mahone Wins Third City Championship in Playoff

By: Nate Sulham Email
By: Nate Sulham Email

Phil Mahone has been in enough big tournaments over the years to know that if he's trailing going into Sunday, his experience will allow him to hang around and possibly steal a win.

That's what happened at Meadowcreek Sunday as Mahone overcame a five-stroke deficit to win his third City Championship in a three-hole playoff.

Mahone topped Richard Morelle and Hunter Weaver, who held a two-stroke lead over Morelle and a five-shot advantage over Mahone going into the day.

"I kind of hung around," Mahone explained. "Hunter had a big lead. I think he got up eight shots on me. I made a little comeback and really I was lucky to win because he let me back in there. So I felt like if I could hang around you never know. And that's what happened."

Weaver actually increased his lead to three shots over Morelle and seven over Mahone ater shooting a 34 on the front nine, but fell apart down the stretch with three bogeys and two double-bogeys for a 42.

Mahone, conversely, shot a 35 on the back half and Morelle countered with a 38 to force a three-way playoff.

Weaver and Mahone each made par on the first playoff hole, 16, while Morelle bogeyed. Mahone then made the only birdie of the playoff on 17 while Morelle made par and Weaver bogeyed. Morelle then birdied 18 while Mahone and Weaver made par, which was enough to give Mahone the victory.

Matt Wade (4th) and Mike Schick (5th) rounded out the top five.

27th City Championship
Final Round
T1 Hunter Weaver 68-67-76--211
Philip Mahone 73-67-71--211
Richard Morelle 70-68-73--211
4 Matt Wade 70-70-74--214
5 Mike Shick 73-69-73--215
6 Jeff Toms 72-73-71--216
7 Jim Heidel 71-73-74--218
T8 Bob Rotella 76-69-74--219
Alex Odell 74-72-73--219
10 Ryan Muthiora 72-71-77--220
T11 Mark Wade 75-73-75--223
Hutson Chandler 75-75-73--223
T13 Bill McAuliffe 75-72-77--224
Scott Garrison 71-71-82--224
T15 Jason Hylton 77-72-76--225
Bill Hamilton 78-75-72--225
T17 Paul Strader 77-72-77--226
Charlie Paschall 76-80-70--226
Ty Grove 72-72-82--226
20 Alex Simmons 73-73-81--227
21 Neal Pease 78-74-76--228
T22 Todd Phillips 79-72-79--230
Philip Hoffman 77-77-76--230
Jay Klingel 75-77-78--230
25 Jimmy Casella 78-76-78--232
T26 Greg Crum 79-75-81--235
Neil Davis 80-82-73--235
28 Steve Cox 77-76-83--236
T29 Forbes Feminella 79-78-80--237
Taylor Ratliff 82-75-80--237
31 A.J. Stouffer 76-81-81--238
32 Nick Norris 85-79-78--242
T33 Kenny Hicks 80-78-85--243
Chris Harvey 83-77-83--243
T35 Tom Eckman 85-79-81--245
Pip Arnette 80-79-86--245
T37 Mike Wade 90-79-77--246
Austin Batten 83-79-84--246
T39 Hank Taylor 88-75-84--247
Evan Davis 79-83-85--247
41 Scott Harper 88-80-80--248
T42 Aaron Kennedy 82-74-94--250
Chris DesChamps 81-84-85--250
T42 Phillip Seay 83-79-88--250
T45 H.O. Hoffman 83-84-89--256
Ben Wilson 89-82-85--256
47 Will Bickers 88-87-86--261
48 Bill Ryals 91-82-91--264
T49 Travis Haney 89-86-91--266
Andy Spratt 88-85-93--266
51 Carl Shade 92-81-95--268
T52 Michael P. Davis 96-88-87--271
Robert Lloyd 91-88-92--271
54 Carlos Hart 95-91-89--275
55 Chris Yates 97-94-88--279

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 266940991 -
Gray Television, Inc.