WCAV-WVAW-WAHU | Charlottesville, Virginia | Sports

Powhatan Claims Team Title At Jefferson District Wrestling Championship

February 4, 2012

The Powhatan Indians won the Jefferson District team title Saturday at the JD Championship at Fluvanna County High School. The Indians had 200 team points, while runner-up Monticello had 140 and third-place finisher Fluvanna had 117.

Powhatan also had four gold medalists while Fluvanna and Monticello had three each.

The finals got started at 106 pounds, where Fluvanna's Dalton Wensel won by decision, 3-0, over Powhatan's Ethan Sommerville.

Western Albemarle's Andrew Dickinson then dominated Powhatan's Chase Richardson, 17-6, at 113.

The Flucos' Justin Zimmerman was the gold medalist at 120, as he impressively handled Louisa's Richard Gallegos by pinfall at 1:46.

At 126, Powhatan's Rich Chinappi pinned Western Albemarle's Caleb Rider in 4:50 and his Indians' teammate David Bowers won by technical decision over Ryan Brown of Monticello, 18-3 at 132.

The 138 final saw Louisa's Gavin Tingen pin Powhatan's Cody Haislip at 2:57 and Monticello's Dwayne Via took care of Adam Bowers of Powhatan by pin at 3:29 at 145.

Angel Hernandez of Monticello made short work of Powhatan's Nick Ellis at 152, winning by pinfall in just 55 seconds.

Charlottesville's Wade Kaummauff won by decision, 9-2, over Garrett Brown of Monticello at 160.

Powhatan's Thomas Smith pinned Fluvanna's Peter Lacey in 4:42 at 170 and another Indian, David Conner, pinned Westen's David Crowley in 5:11 at 182.

Fluvanna's Ben Lacey at 195 dominated Charlottesville's Alexis Rivas by pinfall in just 56 seconds, while Monticello's Daniel Alonzo pinned Powhatan's Hunter Johnson at 2:00 at 220.

In the final bout of the afternoon at 285, Josh Gibbons of Charlottesville pinned Miguel Staples of Louisa in 2:33.

Team Standings
1. Powhatan 200.50 points
2. Monticello 140 points
3. Fluvanna 117.50 points
4. Western Albemarle 115 points
5. Louisa 110 points
6. Charlottesville 73 points

106: Dalton Wensel (FLU) dec. Ethan Sommerville (POW) 3-0
113: Andrew Dickerson (W. A.) dec. Chase Richardson (POW) 17-6
120: Justin Zimmerman (FLU) Richard Gallegos (LOU) Fall 1:46
126: Rich Chinappi (POW) Caleb Rider (W. A.) Fall 4:50
132: David Bowers (POW) technical fall Ryan Brown (MON) 18-3
138: Gavin Tingen (LOU) Cody Haislip (POW) Fall 2:57
145: Dwayne Via (MON) Adam Bowers (POW) Fall 3:29
152: Angel Hernandez (MON) Nick Ellis (POW) Fall :55
160: Wade Kammauff (CHAR) dec. Garrett Brown (MON) 9-2
170: Thomas Smith (POW) Peter Lacey (FLU) Fall 4:42
182: David Conner (POW) Daniel Crowley (W. A.) Fall 5:11
195: Ben Lacey (FLU) Alexis Rivas (CHAR) Fall :56
220: Daniel Alonzo (MON) Hunter Johnson (POW) Fall 2:00
285: Josh Gibbons (CHAR) Miguel Staples (LOU) Fall 2:33

The comments sections of Newsplex.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. E-mail is required, but will not be displayed with comment.

  • Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. We will not post comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.
  • We will not post comments that use hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our website.
  • Comments should not attack other readers or people featured in our stories personally. Any accusations should be backed up with facts.
  • Any comment we post will be posted in its entirety. We do not edit any comment that we post.
  • Comments should contribute to the discussion. We will not post comments that don't advance the discussion. Flaming and/or trolling will not be tolerated.
  • Comments should not attack other posters. Let's keep the focus on the content of the story.

    As a host Newsplex.com welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However this is a site that we host. We have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.

    If you have any ideas to improve the conversation or this section let us know. Send an e-mail to webmaster@newsplex.com.


powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138718094