Bennett Runner-Up in AP Coach of the Year Voting

Virginia's Tony Bennett finished second in the voting for the Associated Press national coach of the year award, announced Thursday.

Voting for the award ended on Selection Sunday. Bennett received 13 of 65 votes, good for second place behind Gregg Marshall of Wichita State (44 votes).

Bennett's fifth season at UVa ended last Friday with a 61-59 loss to Michigan State in the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. The Cavaliers finished the year at 30-7, matching the school record for wins in a season.

UVa went 16-2 in league play this season -- including a 13-game winning streak -- to win the ACC regular season title, and followed that with three wins in Greensboro to claim the conference tournament for the first time since 1976.

Bennett previously won AP coach of the year honors at Washington State in 2007, after leading the Cougars to 26 wins -- including second place in the Pac-10 at 13-5, despite being picked to finish last in the league that year -- in his first season as a college head coach.

Marshall's Shockers entered the NCAA Tournament with a 34-0 record, becoming the first team to enter the bracket unbeaten in 33 years. Wichita State's season ended with a loss to Kentucky in the Round of 32.

Florida's Billy Donovan finished third in the AP voting with six votes. John Beilein of Michigan and Larry Brown of SMU received one vote apiece.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 253800141 -