WCAV-WVAW-WAHU | Charlottesville, Virginia | Sports

Huge Comeback Pushes No. 3 UVa Past No. 16 Ole Miss

March 7, 2012

The third-ranked Virginia men's tennis team posted one of the biggest comebacks in program history, rallying from down 3-0 for a 4-3 win at No. 16 Ole Miss on Wednesday at the Palmer/Salloum Tennis Center.

The Cavaliers lost the doubles point and dropped five first sets before rallying to improve to 10-1 on the season.

For the second consecutive match, the Cavaliers fell behind early by dropping the doubles point. Ole Miss swept all three doubles matches by an 8-6 score to take a 1-0 lead in the match. Johan Backstrom and William Kallberg defeated Mitchell Frank and Julen Uriguen at No. 3, Nik Scholtz and Jonas Lutjen downed Alex Domijan and Steven Rooda at No. 2 and Marcel and Chris Thiemann topped Jarmere Jenkins and Drew Courtney at No. 1.

In singles, the Rebels continued their momentum with taking five of the six first sets. Ole Miss extended its lead to 3-0 in the match with a pair of straight set. Kallberg topped Oudshoorn at No. 4 and Scholtz downed Domijan at No. 1. The final four matches went to a third set.

Virginia won the first three three-set matches completed to draw even. Frank got the Cavaliers' first point of the afternoon as he topped Lutjen 1-6, 6-4, 6-1 at the No. 3 position. Jenkins followed with a 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 win at No. 2 over Marcel Thiemann. Uriguen posted a 7-5, 3-6, 6-3 win over Backstrom at No. 6 to make the score 3-all.

The match came down to the contest at No. 5 where Shane forced a third set against Chris Thiemann after losing the first. In the final set, Shane led 5-2 before Thiemann ran off four straight games to serve for the match at 6-5. Shane broke back to force a decisive tiebreaker, which he won 7-4 to clinch the victory for the Cavaliers.

The Cavaliers return home to begin a three-match homestand on March 16 as they host Oklahoma. Match time at the Snyder Tennis Center is 3 p.m.


1. #19 Thiemann/Thiemann (OM) def. #13 Courtney/Jenkins (UVa) 8-6
2. Scholtz/Lutjen (OM) def. #60 Domijan/Rooda (UVa) 8-6
3. Backstrom/Kallberg (OM) def. Frank/Uriguen (UVa) 8-6

1. #55 Nik Scholtz (OM) def. #53 Alex Domijan (UVa) 6-3, 6-4
2. #8 Jarmere Jenkins (UVa) def. #46 Marcel Thiemann (OM) 2-6, 6-4, 6-4
3. #1 Mitchell Frank (UVa) def. #48 Jonas Lutjen (OM) 1-6, 6-4, 6-1
4. #49 William Kallberg (OM) def. Philippe Oudshoorn (UVa) 6-1, 6-4
5. #72 Justin Shane (UVa) def. #97 Chris Thiemann (OM) 3-6, 6-4, 7-6(4)
6. Julen Uriguen (UVa) def. Johan Backstrom (OM) 7-5, 3-6, 6-3

The comments sections of Newsplex.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. E-mail is required, but will not be displayed with comment.

  • Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. We will not post comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.
  • We will not post comments that use hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our website.
  • Comments should not attack other readers or people featured in our stories personally. Any accusations should be backed up with facts.
  • Any comment we post will be posted in its entirety. We do not edit any comment that we post.
  • Comments should contribute to the discussion. We will not post comments that don't advance the discussion. Flaming and/or trolling will not be tolerated.
  • Comments should not attack other posters. Let's keep the focus on the content of the story.

    As a host Newsplex.com welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However this is a site that we host. We have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.

    If you have any ideas to improve the conversation or this section let us know. Send an e-mail to webmaster@newsplex.com.


powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141839443