McCarthy, O'Connor Earn ACC Postseason Awards

Freshman outfielder Joe McCarthy has joined former Cavalier Danny Hultzen as the only Virginia baseball players to win ACC Rookie of the Year honors.

McCarthy was announced as the league's top rookie for 2013 on Monday morning. The Scranton, Pa., native began his college career by getting on base in his first 36 games, and finished the regular season hitting .333 with three homers and 47 RBI in 52 games. He also led the team with 43 walks.

McCarthy's coach, Brian O'Connor, was also among the ACC's 2013 award winners. O'Connor was named the league's Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career. Virginia went 45-9 in the regular season -- including a league-high 22 wins during ACC play -- and enters this week's conference tournament as the No. 3 seed.

O'Connor also earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 2004, 2010, and 2011.

North Carolina, the league's regular season champion, took home the league's other two individual awards. Junior third baseman Colin Moran was named ACC Player of the Year after hitting .376 with 13 homers and 83 RBI, the most in the nation. Junior lefty Kent Emanuel won Pitcher of the Year, after going 9-3 with a 2.28 ERA in the regular season.

Virginia also placed six players on the All-ACC team announced Monday, including four on the first team -- second baseman Reed Gragnani, outfielder Mike Papi, relief pitcher Kyle Crockett, and utility player Nick Howard. McCarthy and shortstop Branden Cogswell were second team picks.

The comments sections of are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we ask that you follow our rules for commenting. E-mail is required to comment on a story, but it will not be displayed with your comment. For complete rules, CLICK HERE. The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.
powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 208153031 -
Gray Television, Inc.