WCAV-WVAW-WAHU | Charlottesville, Virginia | Sports

Sampson Voted to Naismith Hall of Fame

Ralph Sampson will soon stand among the all-time greatest players the sport of basketball has ever seen.

Sampson, who was a three-time National College Player of the Year during his career at Virginia, was announced on Monday as a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class of 2012.

The 7-4 center was a four-time All-American during his UVa career (1980-83), and he led the Cavaliers to three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 1981 Final Four. Sampson currently ranks fourth all-time at UVa in scoring (2,228 points) and he's the program's all-time leader in rebounds (1,511), field goals made (899), and blocked shots (462).

Sampson went on to play nine years in the NBA, finishing with career averages of 15.4 points and 8.8 rebounds per game. He was the No. 1 overall pick by the Houston Rockets in 1983, and was named to three NBA all-star games, but his career was cut short by multiple knee surgeries.

Five-time NBA all-star Reggie Miller and Don Nelson, the league's all-time winningest coach, are also members of the Naismith class of 2012. The rest of the class includes two-time Olympic gold medalist Katrina McClain; four-time NBA champion Jamaal Wilkes; longtime referee Hank Nichols; and the All-American Red Heads, the female version of the Harlem Globetrotters.

The class will be inducted on September 7 at the Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

The comments sections of Newsplex.com are designed for thoughtful, intelligent conversation and debate. We want to hear from our viewers, but we only ask that you use your best judgment. E-mail is required, but will not be displayed with comment.

  • Comments cannot be profane or vulgar. We will not post comments that use profanity or cross the lines of good taste.
  • We will not post comments that use hate speech. Slurs, stereotypes and violent talk aren’t welcome on our website.
  • Comments should not attack other readers or people featured in our stories personally. Any accusations should be backed up with facts.
  • Any comment we post will be posted in its entirety. We do not edit any comment that we post.
  • Comments should contribute to the discussion. We will not post comments that don't advance the discussion. Flaming and/or trolling will not be tolerated.
  • Comments should not attack other posters. Let's keep the focus on the content of the story.

    As a host Newsplex.com welcomes a wide spectrum of opinions. However this is a site that we host. We have a responsibility to all our readers to try to keep our comment section fair and decent. For that reason The Newsplex reserves the right to not post or to remove any comment.

    If you have any ideas to improve the conversation or this section let us know. Send an e-mail to webmaster@newsplex.com.


powered by Disqus
The Charlottesville Newsplex 999 2nd Street S.E. Charlottesville, VA 22902 434.242.1919 – Main 434.220.7522 - Newsroom
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 145802795